Vsmart Extensions

Welcome to Sainik School, Chittorgarh

Sainik School, Chittorgarh (Rajasthan), was established on 07 Aug 1961. It is one of the first five Sainik Schools started in various states by the Ministry of Defence in association with respective State Governments under the aegis of the Sainik School Society. The first batch of class XI students of this School appeared for Indian School Certificate Examination during Nov-Dec 1961. Later, in 1968, the school changed over to the CBSE, and offers only Science Stream at Senior Secondary level being a feeder institution to the NDA. It is also a member of the All India Public Schools Conference (IPSC).

The saga of Chittorgarh where the School is located is replete with heroic tales of romance and chivalry. Its history revolves around the ancient Chittor Fort that dates back to 566 AD when the Sisodias reigned over Mewar, an important part of the Rajput Kingdom. It was a dynasty which upheld the traditional values of courage and honour to keep alive its independence. Over the centuries, Chittorgarh was attacked and sacked by Allauddin Khilji, Bahadur Shah of Malwa, and the Mugal Emperor, Akbar. Each time, the Rajput rulers displayed exemplary heroism, always choosing death to dishonour, till the Fort was finally annexed to the Mughal Empire in 1567. Integral to its proud history are also the names of Rana Sangha, who built its famous Victory Tower, Rani Padmini, and the Krishna devotee, Meera Bai.


1. 26 Jan 2014, The 65th Republic Day is a “Red Letter” day in this history of Sainik School, Chittorgarh for a unique and an unprecedented recognition by the Hon’ble President of India. On this occassion five of our alumnae received the “Presidential Award” for their distinguish Service and dedication towards the nation.

2. Lt Gen Dalbir Singh, Vice Chief of Army Staff, Lt Gen Narendra Singh, Dy Chief of Army Staff & Lt Gen J P Nehra, Dy Chief of Army Staff were awarded “Param Vishisht Sewa Medal”. Lt Gen K J Singh, Core Commander 33 Core was awarded “Ati Vishisht Sewa Medal" & bar. On the same occasion Group Captain MK Yadav, Commanding Officer 156 Helicopter Unit received “Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry)" for rescuing more than 5000 people from Uttrakhand.

3. It is a matter of great pride for all Chittorian and the Rajasthan State. We wish them many more such recognition of higher order. Such success of our alumnae is a source of inspiration and motivation to young cadets & Staff.